Indian Wars Medal

The Indian Wars Medal was awarded to members of the army who served in any of twelve different major campaigns against hostile Indians from 1865 to 1891, and in such minor campaigns against hostiles as approved by the Army. The original ribbon of solid red with darker red edges was changed in 1917 to distinguish it from the French Legion of Honor, because many of the senior officers and soldiers of the US Army serving in France wore it.

This decoration was authorized in 1907.